What is the punishment for Driving on a Suspended License in Washington?
Driving while your license is suspended or revoked in the State of Washington is classified as either a simple misdemeanor, with a maximum of 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine, or a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a $5000 fine.
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in the 3rd Degree:
The most common charge is Driving While License is Suspended or Revoked Third Degree, or DWLS 3. The crime of DWLS 3 is committed by operating a motor vehicle in the state while your license to drive is suspended but you are eligible for reinstatement. Most frequently this occurs after your license has been suspended by the DOL as the result of unpaid traffic tickets. DWLS 3 is a simple misdemeanor, and an experienced attorney can often help avoid you avoid a criminal conviction for DWLS 3 by explaining how to get your license back, and negotiating with the prosecuting attorney to get you the best possible result.
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in the 2nd Degree:
Driving While License is Suspended or Revoked Second Degree is committed by operating a motor vehicle in the state when your license to drive has been suspended and you are not eligible for reinstatement. This occurs most frequently after a conviction or allegation of DUI. DWLS 2 is a more serious charge, and if your license is currently suspended as the result of a DUI or other conviction, it will also result in a probation hearing to determine if the conditions of your sentence were violated by driving. An experienced attorney can help you avoid a DWLS 2 conviction and represent you at any probation hearings to make sure your interests are represented.
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in the 1st Degree:
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked First Degree is a gross misdemeanor, and carries significant mandatory minimum penalties. DWLS 1 is committed when you operate a motor vehicle when your license to drive is a revoked as a Habitual Traffic Offender due to multiple prior violations. If you have been accused of DWLS 1, you will want an experienced attorney to look into every aspect of your case and get you the best possible result.